So what am I going to do? There are so many projects.

After the feeding and watering is done, I’ll be prepping an area to plant red fingerling potatoes, planting more yellow bulb oinon sets, and setting up the tree skeletons so that our snow peas can grow up through them. Harold also brought home between 50 and 100 (haven’t counted them yet but there’s a bunch) of douglas fir christmas tree seedlings.  These will be planted in 1 gallon pots if I have time today. They’ll be for sale once I know they’ll make it, probably for $3 each. Let me know if you’d be interested in any, they should be available for sale in a couple weeks. You can take them home and plant them, or keep ’em in the pot for an interesting ornamental untill they get too big.

I’ll also be working on the little rototiller as we may be using it over at dad’s place on Sunday.

I was a little worried at the weather forecast for low temps projected over the next couple of days, but with a bit of cloud cover everything was fine. The lettuces and other greens like cool weather, but not the frost so much.

Check back tonight for an update and pics from the day’s work…..

Well, here’s the promised update sans pictures. I decided to spend the daylight working instead of taking pictures, I’ll do the pictures another day, promise!

The little lamb that I picked up last Fridy is doing well. With the warmer weather he’s been able to come off the back porch during the day (the first few days he spent in the bathroom of the house with the heat off and the window open so he wouldn’t acclimate too much to warmer temps in the house). To keep him company, Red Goat is spending time with him in the kennel during the day, something both he and she weren’t sure was such a good idea. Over the past couple of days they’ve gotten to know each other though.

Diva’s little kid got under the center shed in the emu compound. Gave me a start, but she’s OK. She’s turned into a real little goer, spinning around in circles, bouncing up and down and giving her mom and the other goats head butts, so much so that I think they’re getting fed up with her. It’ll be nice when Dusty kids, then the little girl will have someone to play with.

And speaking of Dusty, she looks closer and closer every day. I know, I know, when a goat gets this close to kidding they always look like they’re going to explode. She does seem to be getting a bit less tollerant of the other goats and seems to want to hang out by herself more and more. She even ran Diva out of the run in shed this afternoon, something I’ve never seen her do, so we’ll see…..

I have two new sets of plant protectors for the peas, which will work well for the tomatoes and other vegetables, legume, ect. when the peas get pulled so that we can plant corn in a month/month and a half. The first are the tree skeletons. These I’ve laid on their sides after cutting the branches on one side of the trunk to give the trees a flat side to lay on. The other is 1″ chicken wire hoops. I’m working with 48″ rolled wire. Cut 45 inch length of wire and then cut into 4ths along the straight wire that runs the lenght of the netting. This, when the ends are tied together with a 2″ overlap, will make a hoop that fits just right inside the legs of the bamboo poles I have set in 16″ X 16″ plastic greenhouse trays. The trays are set upside down over the peas which were planted in the middle of the area the tray covers. The trays are pinned to the ground with wire pins. The trays are there to protect the ground from the scratching land sharks, erm, our wonderful laying hens, as well as stabilizing the base of the poles. This works well until the young plant pop up through the trays, at which time the land sharks come by and mow them like a week whacker going after crab grass. Hence the wire cages, which should put the pea plants just out of reach. If this strategy works, it’ll be my final solution to protecting crops like peas, other legumes, tomatoes, climbing vine crops, etc. I already have a good protector for plants like winter squashes, zuchinnis, and other summer squash and melons that don’t or can’t be made to climb.

Geeze, I really do need to take and post some pics don’t I?

I’ll be off to Portland early in the morning on Saturday to pick rosemary, Italian parsley, and fresh bay leaves for the Saturday delivery. The sage is growing here and, even though I picked last saturday and was worried that it wouldn’t recover with the cooler weather we had, when I looked at it this afternoon, it looked pretty robust.

To everyone getting a delivery this Saturday – See y’all between 11:00am and 4:00pm!

