A note from Jo –

Ah, the weather, the weather….

One of the things that make farming so interesting, sometimes frustrating, and anything but boring, is the weather. Last week I was able to plant watermelon radishes, daikon, Khabuli black chick peas, Jacob’s Cattle bean, Edamame, Parisian Market carrots, Cosmic Purple carrots, Atomic Red carrots, yellow wax beans, a Blue Lake type green bean and Detroit Dark Red beets. That was on Tuesday, the 18th of May. I was all set to plant more beans, chick peas and the first of the field corn, but alas, the rain said it was not to be. So this week is a game of playing catch up as well as getting in as many of the crops as possible that I had scheduled to plant from the 24th to the 28th. We’ll see how things go.

I am happy to report to everyone that the radishes and daikon have germinated are are up. Aparently someone likes the cool wet weather. That’s the nice thing about growing a diverse variety of crops. No matter what the weather, something will be doing well, and for those that don’t, it’s time to do a little remove and replace, ‘R & R’ as we say in the construction business….

In this edition you’ll find a new addition to the newsletter – Recipies – What’s For Chow. With all of the different things I will be growing for the members this year, I thought it would be nice to include recipies for everyone. Our first recipe is from CSA Member Bob Strong, host of Around The House With Handyman Bob, which airs on KXL AM 750 from Noon to 2:00pm every Saturday. I’ve known Bob for a couple years now and have enjoyed listening to his show while doing the CSA deliveries on Saturdays. I’ve even been a guest a couple of times, talking about and answering callers’ questions about tile and stone. If you’re a DIYer or even if you plan on hiring a contractor to do work for you, why don’t you tune in some time if you don’t already. Bob has a great show!

If you have a recipe that uses some of the produce, fruits, nuts, eggs or meats you’ve gotten through your CSA membership and would like to have it published in the newsletter, please send it to me via email, or if you don’t have access to email, you can give me a call on the cel (503) 270-1973. If you have a business I’ll give ya a plug as I did for Bob. Part of what I feel this CSA is about is building a community amongst the members as well as the greater area that the CSA serves.

Thanks again for your support!

Joanne Rigutto

The Little Homestead Farm

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

In this issue –

So, What’s Available This Week?

Weekly planting and seedling report

Weekly Livestock Report

Projected Activity For Next Week – And What Happened Last Week….

Upcoming Projects and Events

New! Recipes, tips and tricks, What’s For Chow?
 

 

So, what’s available this week?

More salad greens. I was happy to provide everyone with larger bags of greens last week and I’ll be able to do so again this weekend. Last week y’all got green ‘red’ onions, and this week it will be green ‘yellow’ onions. I’m going to be alternating between the two. The flavor is subtley different and I think everyone will appreciate the variety. I’ll have a little bag of hazlenuts for everyone to sample. I’ll be providing these in the next few deliveries at no charge. There will be garlic scapes again in this week’s delivery. These will be a bit bigger than the ones last week as the scapes mature. There will also be a new variety of green garlic, this one is a wild garlic which is smaller and more intensely flavored. The shares are still pro-rated and will continue to be untill production gets up to full steam. I’ll be adding new greens as the weather warms and dries.

Salad greens – $1.50

Green Garlic – $1.00

Garlic Scapes – $1.00

Green onion – $1.00 (there will be a larger bunch this week than last)

Eggs – $3/dozen

Hazel nuts – no charge

Example – 1 dozen eggs + your share of produce = $7.50

Plants are still available if anyone is interested at $1/4″ pot. If you would like to purchase plants please email me no later than 9:00am on Saturday morning to let me know what and how many you’d like.

Available plants – San Marzano roma type tomato, Carbon tomato, Yellow Pear tomato, Yellow Currant tomato, Cherokee Purple tomato, Black Krim tomato, Black Cherry tomato, Green Zebra tomato // Giant Marconi sweet pepper, Annaheim pepper, Early Jalapeno pepper, Serrano pepper, Ancho pepper, Pretty Purple pepper (hot), Numex Sunrise pepper. Note – the pepper plants and some tomato plants are small and should be kept in a warm, sunny location until planted. If you plant right away, they should be protected by cloches or a device like Wall ‘o Water, row covers, etc.

 

Weekly Planting and Seedling Report

Planting of seed over at the Canby location was done on Tuesday 5-18. I was able to get Daikon, Watermelon radish, Parisian Market carrots, Cosmic Purple carrots, Atomic Red carrots, Detroit Dark Red beets, Kabouli Black garbanzo beans (chickpeas), Yellow Wax bean, a round green bush bean, Jacob’s Cattle bean. No other planting was possible due to the weather and soil conditions.

If the weather continued to dry as forecast, I would have been over at the Canby location to plant more beans, chickpeas, corn, beets, turnips, and radishes on friday 5-28 and would have been planting tomatoes as well. However as it rained most of the day on Friday, I worked in the greenhouse potitng up the rest of the tomato plants and pepper plants. I’ve done a count and have close to 800 tomato plants to go in the ground, so I think we’ll have plenty to go around.

 

 

Weekly Livestock Report

Whiskers the Whale (ok, she’s a goat but she was as big as a whale), finally delivered two healthy kids, one doeling and one buckling. The kids and mom are doing well, although Whiskers appears to be producing more milk than the kids can consume. Therefore, I am milking her and Bambi. Quite the work out considering that I really can’t do much in the way of milking with my left hand due to an old injury. I hadn’t originally intended to milk Whiskers as she is more or less a purebred boer goat, bred for meat production, not milk production. But, this has turned out to be a good thing as it will let me fill up the milk larder for next year’s bummer lambs that much faster. The sooner I can get that filled, the sooner I can start making cheese for the family to store. While I will not be selling milk for human consumption, I would like to make it available to horse farms for foals or for other orphaned animals, and will be contacting a few veterinarians. Unlike cow’s milk, goat’s milk is a universal milk, and any baby animal can drink it with out trouble.

I’ve set up the cabinet incubator that I ordered from GQF and have 40 guinea fowl eggs set which are due to hatch the first day of Summer. I’ll be offering guinea keets (chicks) for sale at $3/each for straight run. I’ll also have some slaughter sized guinea fowl for sale for anyone who is interested in trying a bird or two out. Guinea fowl are darker meated than a chicken and are supposed to have great flavor. These as all of our other birds will be free range or will be reared in large flight pens with pasture and bugs. Guinea fowl love bugs, even more than chickens.

 

Projected Activity For Next Week

If the good weather holds, I’ll be planting the rest of the tomato plants along with the pepper, cucumber, eggplant and squash plants. I’m done waiting for the rain to quit and have resigned myself to planting in the rain. At least it’s not too cold now and I won’t have to water the new crops and seedlings….

I’ll also be able to start the crops in the greenhouse that should have been started 2 weeks ago, but that couldn’t be started because so many of the plants in the green house had to stay put due to the cool weather. If you are interested in any of the tomato or pepper plants, please let me know before Monday, the 31st of May. If the weather holds, if you wait until after then the plants will not be available.

On Monday, Memorial Day, I plan on planting the first of the field corn. This is a flint corn which is supposed to make great corn meal.

 

Upcoming Projects and Events

Planting at Dad’s Garden and share pickup on Sunday. We got the poles up for the green beans and will be stringing twine for the plants to climb. We’ll also probably be planting tomatoes and maybe peppers. Share pickup on Sunday will be from Noon – 3:00pm.

 

Recipies – What’s for chow?

 
This week kicks off the featured recipe of the week section of the newsletter. Our first recipe comes from Bob Strong, one of the farm’s CSA members. Bob is a general contractor who works as a handyman in the Portland Metro area. He’s also the host of Around The House With Handyman Bob which airs on AM 750 KXL on saturdays from noon – 2:00pm.

Here’s what Bob said when I asked him what he does with the green onions and green garlic –

 

I’ve been combining a sweet onion with a couple of Spanish onions and your wonderful green garlic in a saute pan with a bit of olive oil and real butter, a pinch of salt and fresh cracked black pepper, cooked slowly until the water is pretty well cooked out of the onions and then I add a generous portion of sliced crimini mushrooms … See Morefor the last five minutes. Today, I used the green “red” onions, because you didn’t have any garlic – it was great, too!
Serve this as a side with a grilled flatiron steak – very hot grill, steak at room temperature, coated with your favorite beef rub (just salt and pepper works fine), five minutes on one side, four minutes on the other and it’s ready to rest for five minutes under aluminum foil before slicing in 1/8 inch slices. Medium rare and oh, so good!”

 

See y’all Saturday and Sunday!

 
 

 

