The first of many that is. I’ll be seeding trays to peppers, eggplant, tomatillos, and tomatoes. I’ll be seeding 4″ pots to melons, and more cucumbers, summer squash, fennel, dill, etc. I’ll be seeding 1 and 3 gallon pots to more leeks, onions, nasturtiums, artichoke and cardoon. And I’ll be seeding trays to more cool weather and fast turn over crops like lettuces, mustards, and other greens, cauliflower, cabbage, broccoli and brussels sprouts.

Monday or Teusday I’ll be picking up seed potatoes. And during the week I’ll be preparing the trenches. I’ll finally be able to mow the lawn. I’ve held off because I don’t want to waste the clippings, which I’ve used for years to feed the potato plants. Grass clippings are critical to my potato growing system. Call me weird, but there ya go….

Calcots trimmed and ready to wash and cook. Most of these were distributed to the CSA members, but I did keep 10 of them for myself. The yield was 36 calcots from just 5 onion bulbs planted in November or December of last year.

Oh, and on another note – the Calcots are here. My experiment with growing calcots in a tunnel, has been a stunning success. I’ll definately be planting onions for calcots again this fall. In addition to the Walla Walla Sweet onions that I grew from this year, I’ll be planting a red onion for calcots as well. I’m curious to see what the flavor on those from red onions will be.

